About the Shire

Split Point Lighthouse Aireys Inlet Aerial 1.jpg

Welcome to the Surf Coast Shire 

The Surf Coast Shire is located in southwestern Victoria, 1 hour from Melbourne, 20 minutes south of Geelong and the official start of the iconic Great Ocean Road.

It is home to eleven distinct townships; Aireys Inlet, Anglesea, Bellbrae, Deans Marsh, Fairhaven, Jan Juc, Lorne, Moriac, Freshwater Creek, Torquay and Winchelsea.

Each of these townships has a keen sense of community, a unique identity and a strong desire to protect and nurture the environment.

The Surf Coast is a major lifestyle and visitor destination that is among the fastest growing regional municipalities in Victoria and has undergone significant change over the past 15 years.

The secret to the Surf Coast's prosperity is lifestyle and connection to our beautiful, natural environment. 

Find out more about the Surf Coast Shire by clicking on a page below.